top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Reflection report


The renovations are coming to a close, and I've finished my internship. I have decided to stay on as a member of the Big Fag Press, which is a very exciting opportunity for me, and for which I am very grateful. Following is a reflection on my internship:

Being a mature aged student, I had never really considered doing an internship as part of my Creative Arts degree at Wollongong University, until I ran into Lucas Ilhein one rainy day, and we got chatting about The Big Fag Press. I had a vague recollection of Lucas talking to some students one day quite some time ago, about the organisation. After being in the workforce for over 30 years, I didn’t really think an internship would be for me, as what more could I possibly learn with all that life and work experience behind me?

I could not have been further from the truth! My internship with the Big Fag Press has been an incredible learning curve - from my humble first days of uncertainty to being embedded into the collective as an integral member as the new Treasurer, I have come a long way.

I received some great advice prior to my internship from Teo Trelour (my internship supervisor) who suggested I go in with an open mind and no expectations, which is exactly what I did. I had no idea what the organisation was all about, or what they did. I only knew was that the Big Fag Press is an offset lithography press, and as I have a love of printmaking, and have always wanted to learn lithography, this all sounded great to me (even thought I didn’t really know what an offset lithography press was … ssshhh!).

Diego Bonetto was there to greet me on my first day, and I could not have asked for a warmer welcoming. He made me a coffee as we sat down and discussed my internship. Our conversation was about what I would get out of my time here – and it really came down to the fact that I would get out what I put in. I would have the opportunity to learn how to produce fine art prints on the press, which I am doing now, and am enjoying learning the entire process as an extension to my knowledge of printmaking.

During my second week at the Big Fag I was so pleased to see a familiar face from Uni, Eloise Lindeback, who I commenced my degree with. Eloise is now President, and it is such a pleasure to work with the young, energetic and vibrant person that she is. Eloise’s enthusiasm is contagious, and what I have learnt from her is to ‘just do it’ – to get out there and give things a go.

It has been a very exciting time at the Big Fag Press as they are undergoing major renovations, project managed by Eloise. We have been painting the walls, roof and floor, and plan to install a new kitchen and new storage cabinets. It is invaluable being part of a team of creatives who are all working so hard to make our space the best it can be, and open it up to be used multifunctionally with plans for art markets, workshops, exhibitions and film screenings.

The Big Fag Press has a regular stall at the Volume Artspace Book Fair, and this presented Eloise and me with a wonderful opportunity to design some zines using our own artworks, print them on the Press, crop and cut, all ready for sale. Diego joined us in setting up our stall for the fair, and watching Diego working so efficiently and quickly was a great lesson that has prepared us for the next fair. It was a fun weekend, with the opportunity to connect with other printers, graphic designers, artists, authors and creative people. It was rewarding to be able to say that we are part of the Big Fag Press, which is quite well known and well respected out there in the art world.

Diego has handed over the role of Treasurer to me, and has imparted his knowledge of record keeping with support and encouragement, and is on hand at any stage if needed. There is also the opportunity for me to learn the process of grant applications, something which I have had little experience in, but am keen to learn. Knowing that I have this support behind me, I am already floating ideas around in my head for projects that will mutually benefit The Big Fag Press and myself.

Diego Bonetto and Lucas Ilhein are, what we like to call, the ‘Grandfathers’ of the organisation. They are two of the founding members, and are always there for guidance if needed, along with loads of encouragement or just a friendly chat. I sometimes travel up to the Big Fag Press with Lucas, as we both live in the Illawarra which has given me the chance to have some great conversations about the art world as well as my Creative Arts degree, with Lucas patiently answering all my questions very thoughtfully, often offering an alternative opinion for me to ponder on and always opening my mind up that little bit further.

One of the things I have enjoyed the most as part of my internship, is meeting other artists, the highlight being Tracey Moffatt (yes, I was a little bit star struck). In terms of career, my internship has taught me the value of immersing yourself in an artists’ run collaborative – you are constantly surrounded by other artists who provide mentorship, advice, brainstorming, sounding boards, collaborative opportunities and connections within the art profession.

Most importantly, the biggest thing I have learnt during my internship time at the Big Fag Press, is that you must create your own opportunities and jump at any chance to do so. There are a lot of artists around that would be happy to collaborate on projects, and through this organisation I have met other artists who I would love to work with in the future. We recently had a visit from the lovely people at Megalo Print Studio, and I have since met up with them again at a recent lithography workshop in Canberra, at which I met other printmakers who would be keen to spend some studio time together, which is very exciting.

My internship with the Big Fag Press has made me realise that my life and work skills can be consolidated to work as an art professional. For example, I have used my drafting skills to draw up floor plans for the renovations, my bookkeeping skills to become Treasurer, my drawing skills to produce a zine for the Book Fair, and there is the possibility of using my organisational skills to facilitate art workshops in the future. The Big Fag internship has really highlighted to me, how much I love working in a community of creatives, and how much I need to be with people rather than be isolated in my own studio, as so many artists are.

I can honestly say that I was welcomed with open arms into an arts organisation that fosters a culture of mutual respect, encouragement and support, and creates a sense of empowerment for people to use and share their knowledge and skills. I would highly recommend any student to do an internship at the Big Fag Press, a fantastic opportunity for anyone with a willingness to learn all about working with artists in a creative community. And last but not least, it was and continues to be loads of fun!


bottom of page