top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Madam Treasurer


Today I picked up Lucas on the way up, and we went to Sydney College of the Arts at Lillyfield and met Eloise there. We had set up a quick meeting with Peter Humble to see how much equipment he has, with a view to him moving into the Big Fag Press premises. He did have a lot of equipment, but we managed to impress on him how little space there is available at the Big Fag Press. Peter thought that it was possible to downsize a little, and use storage a little more efficiently. He is going to see if everything he has can fit into a space of 4 x 1.5 metres.

More painting today once we arrived at the Big Fag Press, with all the undercoat finished - ready for the first coat of white. It is amazing the difference even the undercoat makes - the walls look so much cleaner, it is fabulous to see the progress. Back at it again on Saturday.

The Annual General Meeting started around 2pm. Lucas, Diego, Eloise, Marnee, Clementine and I were in attendance, and Louise was there on Skype. Straight up a new president was voted in - that is Eloise. I was voted in as Treasure, Marnee as Vice President, and Lucas as Secretary. Out with the old and in with the new! Basically we all discussed financial matters, upcoming print projects and a variety of things.

One of the upcoming projects is the Artspace Volume 2017 Book Fair which runs from Friday 13th to Sunday 16th October. Eloise, and myself will man a stall which will sell prints from the Big Fag Press. We will also be doing our own prints which we have been preparing to create a zine. I have chosen Sydney Rocks as the subject for my zine, and am preparing some charcoal drawings as well as watercolour and pen. I wanted to try and make it a little bit funny, so I intend to draw some rocks as well as some Sydney Rock Oysters, a Sydney Rock start, and The Rocks in Sydney. I hope people laugh!

Through this internship, I am beginning to realise that I would like to work on art projects that have some sort of impact on society - artwork that address social issues such as refugees, marriage equality, environmental damage - all issues that have a currency and are affecting society now. I have enjoyed working with other artists, and am so excited that I am now a member of the Big Fag Press as well as Treasurer. Although it is not paid work, I am surrounded by mentors which is invaluable, and I feel like I can approach any members with any ideas, proposals or queries I might have.


bottom of page