top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Sydney Rocks

I'm not going up to the Big Fag Press this Thursday, as nobody will be there. I have however, been working on my images for my zine. We plan to print on Friday 6th October which is so exciting. Eloise and I are going to follow Diego around in the hope of learning how to use the press - it is such a beast!

So here are some of my images I have been working on:

All of these images were done on A4 paper, some watercolour, some charcoal and the last one 'The Rocks' was done in pen. I then scanned the images at 600 dpi then saved each image as an A5 size jpg and sent them off to Eloise. For a really great guide to creating images for printing on the Big Fag Press, go to http://bigfagpress.org/work-with-us/

Once Eloise receives all the images from everyone, then she will send them off to have a plate made up which we will then print off. I'm really looking forward to printing on Friday, it will be so good to see a project through from start to finish, and even more exciting that this project includes some of my work. I can already feel a sense of achievement, this being my first project (apart from helping with renovations) with the Big Fag Press. It also gives me a taste of what is possible for future projects, and my mind is reeling with ideas.

I'm looking forward to chatting with Clementine Barnes about her projects with refugees and how she weaves her textile work into her projects. Hopefully I can meet up with her before she goes away on a research project to Paris and Amsterdam. Her research is to "learn more about the relationship between migrant women and textiles on a transnational scale" and she will be investigating "the potential of textile-based practices as a catalyst for social and political change". Clementine is raising money through crowd funding, you can see her page here. She is also donating 40% of the funds raised to the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre. This really grabbed my attention firstly because she is donating a percentage of funds raised to such a worthy cause, and secondly because she is crowd funding to do a research trip for her art practice. I had never thought of doing anything like this, yet what a wonderful example of how you can use your art practice to not only raise money for charities and/or a campaign you believe in, but also use it to further develop your own practice.


bottom of page